top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Thate

Day 2: Time Flies

Three years ago, our group wrapped up a successful mission in Saint-Marc, Haiti, ready to return to Maryland and resume life. We packed the van and spent our final moments saying our goodbyes in the school courtyard … or so we thought. Time continued to pass by, and our driver still had not arrived. Uncertainty had set in.


Photo taken moments before we heard the news.

As we were about to inquire on the status of our departure, we learned that we would be staying at our compound indefinitely. Haitian borders had shut down overnight, so it was impossible to leave; riots had broken out, and we were anticipating Hurricane Beryl.


Despite having extremely limited cellular data and service, the thirteen of us were able to deliver the unimaginable news to our loved ones with the little information we knew. People at home with better access to the news were more aware of what was happening right outside our gates, while we retreated to our rooms at Les Bons Samaritans school with no clue.


Life was at a sudden pause, as we were unable to tend to our commitments at home. I was supposed to return to a full schedule at work, so I called my manager to let her know what was happening, and she asked coworkers to cover my shifts for me. I was also supposed to begin a summer course, so I had to instruct my mom on how to access my college email and what to send my professor, hoping for some flexibility.


Nathaniel Hawthorne, an American novelist, once said, “Time flies over us but leaves its shadow behind,” which is exactly how I feel about my time in Haiti.


These memories fade year by year, but my heart is still in Haiti. My experiences have been and will always be with me. This trip has made me who I am today.


The trip to Haiti caused a ripple effect in all of us.


Thanks to the extra days spent together, my group was provided the opportunity to grow and support each other in a way like no other. Our friendships have continued to this day, and we remain connected to the Mortel High Hopes for Haiti Foundation by doing this campaign. I plan on meeting for lunch with Dr. Mortel and Rachel soon, as I now live close to their offices.


Ty, a fellow missionary, and I were able to become the best of friends when he decided to attend my school, York College of Pennsylvania. He and I have shared many involvements, became coworkers, and helped each other become the leaders we are today. We love telling people how we met and reminiscing on this trip.



For me, this experience helped me realize my goals. Shortly after returning, I applied to study abroad in India. There, I worked at an orphanage and took a yearlong course that focused on issues of poverty, globalization, and social change. While abroad, I discovered a passion for healthcare, and an opportunity to intern at a major health department presented itself this past year. I plan on pursuing a career and furthering my education in this field and would love to pursue medical missions in the future.


Haiti also helped me find the confidence in myself that I had needed. Since returning to college that fall after the trip, I have pursued other opportunities and community service efforts.


The experiences from this also sparked inspiration for my college commencement speech, where I talked about the importance of creating and maintaining a legacy and sharing it with others. We shared so much with our friends in Haiti, and they did the same for us.


This trip of a lifetime changed so many lives, including ours, and we love coming together and sharing our experiences with others, no matter how much time passes by.

 

To donate to the Mortel HHH Foundation, click here.


70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page