top of page
  • Writer's pictureMicah Buser

Day 7: Haiti Remembered Through Music

My trip to Haiti happened over three years ago, and yet, I still find myself processing this experience. Bits and pieces of the trip spontaneously come to mind in random places. There are certain scents that take me back to the savory smells of our daily lunches (which I still find myself craving). When I see the high energy of children, I quickly remember the playful Haitian schoolchildren that never seemed to tire.


Micah and the campers

However, I feel most connected to Haiti when I find myself in the midst of deep reflection. During these reflections, I slip into meditative prayer, and most of the time, these moments are brought on by meaningful music.


As a music education major, most of my life involves music to some extent, so of course, music is my way to connect and relate with others. It also allows me to process emotions for which I do not have the words. When asked to discuss my trip, I struggle to find the correct way to describe it. To put it simply, the journey was the most influential experience of my life, and my time in Haiti directly impacted who I am today. Allow me to express to you that this is still an understatement, as I will never find the words to describe the beauty that is that marvelous little nation.


At first glance, Haiti is riddled with poverty, and its people endure daily struggles that the average American could not fathom.


Yes, this much is true, but believe me, there is so much more to Haiti than its struggles. The people of this nation hold great pride for their home, and they are able to find joy in the most surprising of places.


While there, I was envious of their ability to do this. Prior to this trip, I never fully understood the fun that could be had in the rain or the enjoyment gleaned from a makeshift game of soccer. The people of Haiti take nothing for granted and find a way to make the most of what they have.


Because of these interactions, I found myself thinking of Haiti when I listened to music that sparked feelings of pure joy. At the end of this post, I've compiled a list of some of these songs and pieces for you.


If you take the time to listen to them, I would like you to imagine a world in which circumstance does not define people. Think about the purest love between a parent and their child, or imagine the sweet sound of children’s laughter. Picture a level of kindness and selflessness that goes beyond anything you have ever experienced. From there, you will have just the slightest glimpse of the true beauty that is the remarkable nation of Haiti.


Music List

  • “Jupiter” from The Planets by Gustav Holst – listen here

  • Worship Medley – “How Great is Our God/Our God/How Great Thou Art” by Caleb and Kelsey Grimm – listen here

  • “Gabriel’s Oboe” by Ennio Morricone – listen here

  • “Sing Gently” by Eric Whitacre – listen here

  • “Wildflowers” by Tom Petty – listen here

  • “Found/Tonight” by Ben Platt and Lin-Manuel Miranda – listen here

  • “Fall on Me” by Andrea and Matteo Bocelli – listen here

 

To donate to the Mortel HHH Foundation, click here.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page