top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Thate

Day 11

11 Things I Learned in 11 Days


A reflection of my time serving in Saint-Marc, Haiti.

  1. It’s important to invest in your group and your community. I was lucky to serve in Haiti with a great group of people who helped me come out of my shell. It took us a few days to really connect with each other, and we really began to bond when we had another few unexpected days together. We were all able to support each other throughout the duration of the camp and during the tough times we faced together. We invested in each other all the way. To say that these individuals are amazing would be an understatement. I saw God working through each person in my group during our time in Haiti, and each one inspired me in one way or another. Our backgrounds and interests were different, but we all came together with the same passion – to serve. We had an incredible time and will always have this experience to remember! We stay in contact and have made efforts to see each other and put this project together. As a group, we invested in the community of Saint-Marc. We felt welcome when we arrived and that was my motivation to provide a good week for the students we were working with. As a camp counselor, I put heart into all I did that week, from planning the English lessons to executing them. The campers looked forward to this week, so I assured each of them were having a good time and that everyone was engaged. After camp each day, we introduced ourselves to the locals and saw different parts of the area we were staying in. Time and kindness were the investment and the smiles, goodwill, and friendship were the dividends.

  2. Joy is everywhere. My freshmen year of college was full of challenges, and the mission opportunity presented itself when I was at a low point. Haiti gave me a feeling of joy that I hadn’t felt in a long time. Everywhere we went, we were greeted with a smile, and in some cases, hugs and sometimes even kisses. Everywhere we went, we were welcomed with open arms. Everyone we met was proud to show us their country and happy that we were there. Everybody wanted to get to know us. Despite the hardships of poverty, there was a surplus of joy… With those kind people in mind, since returning to the states, my mission is to also be just as kind and spread as much joy as I can (even on those cloudy days).

  3. Contentment doesn’t depend on wealth. We met many people and drove through many villages during our stay. We glimpsed a variety of walks of life and even visited a large refugee camp. It was evident that the locals didn’t need big houses, brand-name clothing, or electronics to be happy unlike how many live in the U.S. One experience that I will never forget was a visit to a Haitian hospital one afternoon. In the parking lot, three young boys played with toy cars they made from used bottles, bottle caps, and string. They were content, entertained, and occupied. When they saw us, they were proud to show us what they had made and offered us the opportunity to play with the cars.

  4. I took a lot for granted. No, we didn’t stay in a shack, but we stayed in an apartment with no AC (it is HOT in Haiti), limited running water (no water heater), noisy neighbors (all night), and limited electricity with frequent and prolonged blackouts. I took all these basic luxuries for granted at home. This trip also made me more aware of how advanced our healthcare is in the States. In the hospitals, there aren’t private or even semi-private rooms, but large rooms with rows of beds that we were able to just walkthrough. There was dried up blood and syringe needles on the floor. I cannot imagine how challenging it must be for the country to navigate the coronavirus pandemic, which is why our campaign is important to us. The same goes for education. Education is an available commodity in the United States, but hard to come by in Haiti.

  5. Love is the best language. On the day we arrived in Haiti and as we prepared for the week ahead, we talked about potential challenges we might encounter. My primary concern was communication, and I was not wrong. I didn’t know a single word of Creole and I couldn’t recall much French from high school. I would stay up late some nights and learn brief phrases to help get me through the next day. Before camp would start, I would spend time with the high school student helpers to practice more. Some days it was really frustrating when the campers asked me questions or tried to tell me things that I couldn’t understand. Consistently, when we would go places, friendly people would attempt to start a conversation. I will always wonder how different my experience would have been had I known the language. It breaks my heart in a way. The thing is, I still made connections. Meaningful connections. It took some work of course, but it was made possible because love is the best language. I put my heart into making sure that the students would understand the crafts and games. I planned each English lesson with a purpose and worked closely with the high school volunteers to make it possible. What became clear was that the love I had for my new friends didn’t require words. Love is the best language.

  6. You can find beauty anywhere. When I told people about this trip beforehand, and even when I talk about it two years later, people often imagine Haiti as a broken, impoverished country. Since, my goal has been to change people’s minds. Everywhere I went in this tropical country, there was beauty. Pictures don’t do it justice. There were perfect views of the sparkling, blue Caribbean on one side and majestic mountains on another. There were bright, colorful sunrises and sunsets seen from the school roof – something I looked forward to each day. The architecture of some buildings and churches were simple, yet dynamic. Most importantly, the people were beautiful in their own way. In spite of the frequent and violent storms and riots and the chronic poverty, there’s no lack of beauty.

  7. The culture is very different. The first thing I noticed was how chaotic driving through dense city streets or treacherous hairpin turns and blind curves in the hills was. Speed limits are rarely posted and never followed. Drivers tend to go on one side or the other, randomly and frequently stop short, or pass each other with inches to spare. “Tap-Taps” (decked out pick-up trucks/taxis) are overcrowded, and sometimes you’ll see four or more people on a moto (motopeds). The people are fearless. Lots of honking, too. The town we stayed in doesn’t have many stores, but the markets are filled with vendors. Prices are not fixed, so bartering seems like a local sport, and I’d like to say I mastered it. Driving by, you could see Haitians bathing and doing laundry in the river. Trash is everywhere – there isn’t a formal system for disposal. There are many half-built structures. Apparently, when one obtains enough money, they buy the land and build as much as they can until they run out of money. There is so much more to take in. I still have a lot to learn. This, however, prepared me for my study abroad trip to India that I went on this past year.

  8. Education is everything. Riots across the country forced us to extend our stay for several days. Our hosts were concerned for our safety, but we were told that the school we were staying in was probably the safest location around. Everyone in the village knew we were there to help the children, so this turned troublemakers away. That really hit me. Most Haitians lack access to quality education, and education is so meaningful in general since it impacts social and economic development. This trip allowed me to take some time to reflect on the importance of education. The Mortel High Hopes for Haiti Foundation has served so many in Saint-Marc, and students are able to do so much with their education for the betterment of society.

  9. God is so big. Upon landing back at Ronald Reagan Airport, we were interviewed by a local news station. One person from our group said that staying there those extra few days had driven home why it had been so important for us to be there. From the surface, as a mission group, we did a lot that week, but it was really God who was doing all the work. God kept our spirits up the entire time we were there; God pushed us to always do more; God brought so many people into our lives. God provided us with an unforgettable experience.

  10. Always be on a mission. I have always been service-oriented, but going on this trip has inspired me to do so much more. It is important to stress that you can serve God and serve anybody, anywhere – you do not have to travel to another country to serve. Start in your home, in your neighborhood, in your school, or in your local city. Seek volunteer opportunities at local charities or agencies. You can do ANYTHING. My major and campus involvements have given me many opportunities to serve others throughout my college career. Those opportunities will continue to emerge after graduation next spring. Always be on a mission, and always inspire others to join along.

  11. There is so much hope for Haiti. It’s been two years and those experiences are with me each day. Those memories have brought me so much happiness, and I have enjoyed sharing those moments with anyone willing to listen. People may know Haiti as a broken, impoverished country that has bad luck. Ultimately, the Haitian people are resilient and do not receive enough credit. Haiti is a beautiful country with beautiful people. There is so much potential. A lot has occurred in the past two years, but it’s important for me to celebrate Haiti, the Mortel Foundation, and to stay in touch with my sister parish, which I had the pleasure of visiting. The people of Haiti deserve a better life. There is so much hope.

 

To donate, click here or visit the "donate" tab.


68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 10

Day 9

bottom of page